This article is to help you edit and delete networks. For help with something else, select what you want to do:
Editing network details
You can edit a network’s details, like its category, name, and description, anytime.
- Go to the network with details you want to change.
- In the top-right corner, click Settings and choose Edit network.
- Make changes and click Save changes.
Deleting networks
Deleting a network is permanent and can’t be undone. Here’s what you need to know:
What will be deleted
- The network from your list of networks.
- Any information saved only in that network, like its stickies, will also be deleted.
What will stay
- People, media, and sources in your tree.
- Your linked tree.
- Content in other networks.
- Other networks.
To delete a network:
- Go to the network you want to delete.
- In the top-right corner, click Settings and select Delete network.
- To confirm, click Delete.
The network, and any information saved only in that network, like stickies, will be permanently deleted.
Frequently asked questions
Select a question below to view the answer. Select the question again to hide it.
What happens if I delete a tree linked to a network?
Deleting a tree will also permanently delete any connected networks and their stickies.
What happens to the people, media, sources, and stickies if I delete a network they’re in?
When people, media, and sources are added through a network, they’re also saved to your tree. So, if you delete the network, you’ll still have access to them in the tree.
Stickies work differently. They don't get saved to your tree, so they'll also be deleted if you delete their network.
What happens to my networks if I cancel Pro Tools?
To use networks, you need an active Ancestry Pro Tools Membership
If you cancel Pro Tools, you’ll have access to networks until your Pro Tools membership expires (on the “Expires” date in your Account settings).
After expiration:
- Your networks and their stickies will be saved but will no longer be accessible.
- Your connected tree(s) and its people, media, and sources will still be available.
- Any changes to your tree(s) (like deleting people, media, or sources) will also be made in your connected networks.
- If you delete a tree, the networks connected to that tree will also be deleted.
You can regain access to your networks anytime by resubscribing to Pro Tools.
I accidentally deleted a network. How do I get it back?
Deleting a network is permanent and can’t be undone. However, you can manually recreate the network.