Ancestry Family Plans allow 5 people to share a single Ancestry membership and its features. This means one payment for up to 5 total Ancestry accounts (with separate usernames, passwords, and privacy settings) at a lower price than buying individual memberships.
Purchase a Family Plan
Note: Family plans are only available in the United States currently.
What are the different roles in a Family Plan?
Two roles are available in an Ancestry family plan, manager and member. Each person may only have one role.
- The family plan manager is the original purchaser and membership owner. Managers can:
- Family plan members are invited to use their own Ancestry account (with separate usernames, passwords, and privacy settings) to access the features included in the plan’s membership. Plan members can:
Inviting people to your family plan
Family plan managers can share their family plan with up to 4 additional people (5 total). To invite someone to a family plan you manage:
- Go to Account settings. If prompted, sign in.
- In the Membership section, under Manage or invite plan members, select + or >.
- Choose Invite.
- To get a shareable invitation link, select Copy invite link and share it with your desired family plan members. Anyone with access to this link can use it to join your family plan. To disable this link (including any pending invitations) and generate a new one, select Reset invite link > Yes, reset invite link.
To send an invitation link by email, enter the recipient's email address and select Send invitations. To send the link to multiple email addresses, choose + Add another email.
Once someone accepts your invitation, you'll see them listed as a plan member.
Removing people from your family plan
Family plan managers can remove anyone that has joined. To remove someone from a family plan you manage:
- Go to Account settings. If prompted, sign in.
- In the Membership section, under Manage or invite plan members, select + or >.
- To the right of the person you want to remove, choose Actions > Remove.
- Select Remove.
They'll no longer be listed as a member of your family plan; we'll inform them of this change and that they'll no longer have access to this membership.
Canceling a family plan
Unless canceled, the family plan will automatically renew on the Renews on date listed on the purchaser’s Account settings page, where the current membership is displayed. Any changes or cancellations made by the purchaser will apply to everyone on the family plan.
Note: only the original purchaser may cancel a family plan. If you no longer want to be part of a family plan but are not the original purchaser, follow the steps for leaving a family plan.
To cancel a family plan you manage:
- Go to Account settings . If prompted, sign in.
- In the membership section, choose Cancel membership and follow the onscreen instructions until you see confirmation that you’ve canceled.
Joining a family plan
With an invitation (by link or email), you can join someone else’s Ancestry family plan as long as there’s space. Joining a family plan will not affect its membership, renewal, or other members.
If you have an existing Ancestry membership or are part of another family plan, you must first cancel your membership or leave the current family plan before joining a new one.
To accept an invitation and join the family plan:
- Select your invitation link, or from your email invitation, choose to Accept invite.
- If prompted, sign in to your Ancestry account or create one for free.
- If signed in with the correct account, choose Yes, join now; otherwise, select No, use different account.
- Select Join plan.
Leaving a family plan
Family plan members can remove themselves from a family plan at any time. Leaving a family plan will not affect its membership, renewal, or other members.
Family plan managers cannot leave a family plan; instead, they must cancel it. Note: any changes or cancellations made by the purchaser will apply to everyone on the family plan.
To leave a family plan:
- Go to Account settings. If prompted, sign in.
- In the membership section, choose Leave.
- Confirm your decision to leave by selecting Yes.
You’ll no longer be listed as a member of this family plan or have access to the features of this membership (you'll still have access to your Ancestry account as a free registered guest); we’ll notify the plan manager of this change.
Frequently asked questions
How does the family plan differ from traditional Ancestry memberships?
Family plans enjoy the same features as individual memberships but can also extend their paid access to up to 4 additional accounts (5 total).
Do we share an account, or do we each get our own?
Each family plan member will have their own Ancestry account with a separate username, password, and privacy settings.
Who is responsible for paying for the family plan?
The original purchaser is responsible for the family plan’s management and ongoing payments. Any changes or cancellations made by the purchaser will apply to everyone on the family plan.
Does the price go up or down based on the number of people in the family plan?
No, the price stays the same regardless of the number of people who’ve joined the family plan.
Can existing subscribers change their membership to a family plan?
Yes, existing subscribers can update their current membership to a Family Plan.
Memberships purchased on the Ancestry website or over the phone can be upgraded from the Account settings page or by contacting us. Upgrades result in the cancellation of the current membership and the creation of a new family plan. A refund for the unused portion of the current membership is applied as a credit towards the amount due for the new family plan.
Memberships purchased in the Ancestry app (through the Apple App Store, Google Play, or Amazon) must first be canceled through Apple, Google Play, or Amazon (and are subject to their refund policies) before buying a family plan membership.
Can I join someone else’s family plan if I already have an Ancestry membership?
Yes, if you're invited to someone else's family plan, you can join it as long as there’s space. You’ll be prompted to cancel your existing membership with a refund for the unused portion of your current membership before joining the family plan.
Note: Memberships purchased in the Ancestry app (through the Apple App Store, Google Play, or Amazon) must first be canceled through Apple, Google Play, or Amazon (and are subject to their refund policies) before joining a family plan membership.