If you see an invitation to upgrade when trying to view a record, you may need to sign in to a different account, clear your cache and cookies, or upgrade your membership.

 

Signing in to another Ancestry account

If you should be able to see the record you clicked on, make sure you’re signed in to the right account. From any page on Ancestry, click your name or username in the top-right corner and select Account Settings. This page will show you which membership is attached to the account you’re signed in to. To sign out of that account, click your name or username and select Sign Out.

 

Clearing your cache and cookies

If you’ve confirmed that you’re in the right account, try clearing the cache and cookies in your browser, signing into your account again, and viewing the same record. Make sure you’re using a supported browser.

 

Upgrading your membership

If your membership covers only records from certain locales, you’ll get a message inviting you to upgrade when clicking on a record that’s not included in your membership.


Was this article helpful?