This article is to help you manage people in networks. For help with something else, select what you want to do: 


Changes made to media through your network will also be made in the linked tree. For example, if you add media to someone through your network, they'll be added to the network and its linked tree. Remember, networks are private, but the information in family trees, like media, follows the tree’s privacy settings.

Adding media

To a network:
Add media, like photos of people and places, to the network. 

  1. Go to the network and select the Media tab.
  2. Choose or upload a file.
    • To use media from your linked tree:
      1. Click Upload media, then choose Add from tree gallery.
      2. Select the file from your linked tree’s gallery.
    • To upload a file:
      • Click Upload media, then Choose files.  
      • Select the file on your device, and click Open or OK. The media will be added to this network and saved in your linked tree’s gallery.
         

To a network stickie:
Media can’t be added directly to a stickie, but links to media can be added using the stickie’s rich text editor

  1. Create or open a stickie.
  2. In the Stickie details panel, use the rich text editor to add a link to the media
    For help, read Using Rich Text Editors on Ancestry.

Editing media

  1. Go to the network and select the Media tab. 
  2. Find and select the media you want to edit to open it in the linked tree’s gallery. 
  3. Use the image toolbar and side panel to make changes. For help, read Editing and Enhancing Media. The updates will be saved in the linked tree’s gallery and any networks they’re part of.

Removing and deleting media

Removing media from the network keeps it in your tree but removes it from that network. Deleting media from your tree permanently removes it from the tree and network and any other networks linked to that tree.

  1. Go to the network and select the Media tab.
  2. Under Network gallery, click Select.  
  3. Find the media file you want to remove and check the box next to its title.
  4. Click Remove from network.
  5. (Optional) If you want to remove the media from your tree, follow the steps in Deleting Photos from Trees. Deleting media from a tree will permanently remove it from the tree, the network, and any other networks linked to that tree.

Frequently asked questions

Select a question below to view the answer. Select the question again to hide it.

Who can see my networks and their details?


Only you can see and edit your networks. However, when you add people and media to your networks, they’re also added to the linked family tree and its gallery. People and media in your tree follow your tree’s privacy settings.

  • If your tree is public, information and media about deceased people are visible to others.
  • If your tree is private, only invited people can see information and media about deceased people.

Details about living people are kept private. Only those you invite as an editor or grant access to can view them and their media.

How can I keep information in my networks private?


Only you can see and edit your networks. But, when you add people or media to a network, they’re also added to the linked family tree, and they follow its tree privacy settings.

To keep everything private:

  1. Create a new family tree.
  2. Set it to private.
  3. Create a new network and connect it to that private tree.
  4. Don’t share or invite anyone to that network’s connected tree.

If needed, you can copy people from another tree to your new private tree. They’ll be copied but not linked, as linking people between trees isn’t currently possible. Any future changes made to them in one tree must also be made in the other for the updates to appear in both trees.

How much media can I add to a network?


There’s no limit. You can add as much media as you want to each network. 

How many networks can media in my tree be added to? 


Media in your tree can be added to as many networks as you’d like. There is no limit. 

Are networks available in the Ancestry App?


No. Networks and some of the other Pro Tools features aren’t currently available in the Ancestry app. However, when you add people and media to your networks, they’re also added to the linked family tree and its gallery, which you can view in the app. 

To use networks, use the Ancestry website.

Can I put links to media in my stickies?


Yes, when you make or edit a stickie, you can add links to other pages, media, sources, and websites using the stickie’s rich text editor. For help, read Using Rich Text Editors on Ancestry.

What happens to the media in my network if I delete the linked tree?


If you delete a network’s linked tree, the tree and everything in it—people, media, and sources—will be permanently deleted, along with any connected networks.

What happens to the media if I delete a network?


When media is added to a network, it's either added from your tree or saved to the linked tree. If the network is deleted, you can still access the media in the tree.

How do I unlink or change the tree my network is linked to? 


The tree your network is linked to cannot be unlinked or changed at this time. 

 


Was this article helpful?