Restart your membership anytime from the Modify membership section of your Account settings page.
To cancel your membership, see Canceling a Membership.
Once your membership is canceled, you'll still have an account with Ancestry as a registered guest. Registered guest accounts are free and provide you with access to many resources on the Ancestry. You'll continue to have access to your trees and AncestryDNA results including your ancestral regions, journeys, matches, and some traits (if you've taken an AncestryDNA test and have matches turned on).
If you want to permanently erase all your information, see Deleting Your Ancestry Account.
What will be available?
Once you’ve canceled your Ancestry membership, you’ll still be able to do these things:
- Sign in to your Ancestry account: Your Ancestry account doesn’t disappear once your membership is canceled; you can still sign in.
- View and build your family tree(s): Any people you’ve added to your tree(s) and facts you’ve added to those people will still be viewable when your membership ends, and you can also continue to add people and information to your tree(s).
- View your AncestryDNA results: If you've taken an AncestryDNA test, you can still sign in to your account and view your ancestral regions, journeys, matches, and some traits.
- Receive and respond to messages: With or without a membership, you can receive and respond to messages from anyone on Ancestry.
- See if you have new Ancestry Hints: You’ll continue to receive new Ancestry Hints and can view limited details about them (but unless they’re from free index collections, you won’t be able to view all of the details or attach them to your tree).
- Search our free databases: We offer free index collections that are searchable without a membership.
Any records or media you’ve downloaded to your computer will still be available after your membership ends. For help downloading and printing records, see Viewing, Downloading, and Printing Record Images. For help sharing a tree or uploading a copy of a tree to another account, see Transferring Ownership of an Ancestry Family Tree.
What won’t be available?
- Viewing most records: You can search the site and find records that match your searches, but unless the records are free (or already downloaded), you can’t see the record images or transcriptions (including those already attached to your family trees).
Family trees
Unless you delete them, your trees will remain in your account on Ancestry whether or not you have a membership. As a free registered guest without a membership, these tree features remain available:
- Adding and removing people and photos
- Adding, deleting, and editing names, dates, and other facts
- Managing your tree settings
- Inviting friends and family to view your tree
Without a membership, this won’t be available:
- Viewing records on your tree: Any records attached to your tree that require a membership, won’t be visible after your membership ends, but they’ll stay linked to your tree. If you resubscribe (to the same membership level or higher), you'll be able to view them again. You can always view records you added or those from our free index collections.
We don’t delete family trees, but you can delete trees you've created at any time. Before deleting a tree from your account, save a copy of it by downloading it to your computer as a GEDCOM file.
AncestryDNA
If you’ve purchased a DNA test, these features will remain available without a membership:
Without a membership, you'll be able to see a limited preview of these features:
- Shared matches
- Matches’ family trees (and the features that rely on their trees)
- Matching surnames in matches’ trees
- Matching ancestor birthplaces in matches’ trees
- Common ancestors
- DNA inheritance features
For help, please contact us.