This article is to help you create and organize networks. For help with something else, select what you want to do: 

 

Creating a network

Step 1: Choose where to start

To create a network, start from one of these three places: 
 

  • The Ancestry homepage:
    • Under Pro Tools shortcuts (right side), click Networks > Create new network.
    • Or, click More Pro Tools > Create Network.

  • A person’s profile page:
    • In the Relationships column (right side) under Networks, click Create Network.

  • The List of All People: 

Step 2: Create your network

Once you’re on the network creation page, follow these steps:

  1. If this is your first network, go through the introduction, click Continue until the last screen, then select Get started. Otherwise, skip this step.
  2. Choose a network type, then click Continue.
  3. Enter a name and description (optional), then click Create Network.
  4. Once your network is ready, click Explore network.
     

Viewing your networks

  1. On the right side of the Ancestry homepage, under Pro Tools shortcuts, click Networks.
    If you don’t see it, click More Pro Tools and choose Create Network.
  2. Find the network you want and click View network.
    If you don’t see it:
    1. Under Networks, click the tree name to open the tree menu.
    2. Select the network’s linked tree. (To find a tree quickly, type its name in the Tree name box.)

Tagging networks

Network tags are extra labels that help you organize your networks. If you have a lot of networks, tags can make it easier to find one you need. For example, you can tag networks with labels like Marriage or Divorce to group similar networks. You can add as many tags as you want. 

A network’s tags don't affect other networks, your linked tree, or MyTreeTags

Managing network tags

You can add or remove tags from a network anytime.

To add network tags:

  1. Go to the network you want to add tags to.
  2. Under Suggested tags for your network, select one or more tags.
     

To remove network tags:

  1. Go to the network you want to remove tags from.
  2. In the top-right corner, click Settings and choose Edit network.
  3. To remove a tag, click the X next to it.
  4. Click Save changes.
     

Frequently asked questions

Select a question below to view the answer. Select the question again to hide it.

Which trees can I use networks with?


Networks can only be used with trees you own. If you don’t have one, create a family tree.

Why don’t I see networks?


If you don’t see networks, it might be because:

Who can see my networks and their details?


Only you can see and edit your networks. However, when you add people and media to your networks, they’re also added to the linked family tree and its gallery. People and media in your tree follow your tree’s privacy settings.

  • If your tree is public, information and media about deceased people are visible to others.
  • If your tree is private, only invited people can see information and media about deceased people.

Details about living people are kept private. Only those you invite as an editor or grant access to can view them and their media.

How can I keep information in my networks private?


Only you can see and edit your networks. But, when you add people or media to a network, they’re also added to the linked family tree, and they follow its tree privacy settings.

To keep everything private:

  1. Create a new family tree.
  2. Set it to private.
  3. Create a new network and connect it to that private tree.
  4. Don’t share or invite anyone to that network’s connected tree.

If needed, you can copy people from another tree to your new private tree. They’ll be copied but not linked, as linking people between trees isn’t currently possible. Any future changes made to them in one tree must also be made in the other for the updates to appear in both trees.

How many networks can I create?


You can create as many networks as you’d like. There’s no limit.

What happens to my networks if I cancel Pro Tools? 


To use networks, you need an active Ancestry Pro Tools Membership 

If you cancel Pro Tools, you’ll have access to networks until your Pro Tools membership expires (on the “Expires” date in your Account settings).

After expiration: 

  • Your networks and their stickies will be saved but will no longer be accessible.
  • Your connected tree(s) and its people, media, and sources will still be available.
  • Any changes to your tree(s) (like deleting people, media, or sources) will also be made in your connected networks.
  • If you delete a tree, the networks connected to that tree will also be deleted. 

You can regain access to your networks anytime by resubscribing to Pro Tools.

Are networks available in the Ancestry App?


No. Networks and some of the other Pro Tools features are not currently available in the Ancestry mobile app. However, they are available on the Ancestry website with an active Pro Tools membership.

How do I unlink or change the tree my network is linked to?


The tree your network is linked to cannot be unlinked or changed at this time.
 

 


Was this article helpful?