You can upload or manually enter stories to add them to your tree.
Entering a story
- From your tree, select the tree name menu in the top-left corner and choose Media Gallery.
- On the Media Gallery page, select the Stories tab.
- In the top-right corner of the page, select Add a story and choose type story.
- On step 1, select I want to write a story.
- Add a story title and enter or copy and paste your story. Add a description, location, and date (optional).
- Choose Add another person to attach your story to someone in your tree. Enter the person’s name in the field and select it when it appears in the drop-down menu.
- Select Save story.
Uploading a story
- From your tree, select the tree name menu in the top-left corner and choose Media Gallery.
- On the Media Gallery page, select the Stories tab.
- In the top-right corner of the page, select Add a story and select upload story from computer.
- On the Upload Stories page, select Choose files or drag a file onto the middle of the page to upload it. If you selected Choose files, select the file on your computer > Open or OK.
- Enter the story title, date, location, and description.
- Select Add to attach the story to someone in your tree. In the field that appears, start typing their name, then select it when it appears in the drop-down menu.
- In the top-right corner of the page, click Done.
Downloading a story
If a story was uploaded to Ancestry (not entered manually), you can download it.
- From your tree, select the tree name menu in the top-left corner and choose Media Gallery.
- On the Media Gallery page, select the Stories tab.
- Select the name of an uploaded story. The file will be downloaded to your device. If you can't find the downloaded story, check your Downloads folder.
Removing a story
- From your tree, select the tree name menu in the top-left corner and choose Media Gallery.
- On the Media Gallery page, select the Stories tab.
- Under the Stories tab, select Read more under a story.
- In the Tools section on the right side of the page, click Delete > Remove.