Collaborate with others to expand your tree. From your tree’s Activity menu, you can create and assign tasks, review recent changes, and see who’s viewed your tree to make new connections.
Most collaboration tools are available from your tree’s Activity menu. Some features are only available on the Ancestry website at this time.
Learn how to:
- Create and assign tasks
- Mark tasks as complete
- Edit or delete tasks
- View changes
- See recent tree viewers
- Turn recent tree viewers on or off
Tasks
Leave comments, mention other Ancestry members and family groups, and assign and resolve tasks. Tasks are only visible to you as the tree owner and anyone you’ve invited to this tree.
Creating and assigning tasks
You can create and assign tasks for your trees on Ancestry.
From a browser
- Go to your tree.
- In the tree's toolbar on the left, select More (three dots), then choose Activity.
- In the opened Activity panel, select Tasks.
- In the comment field, enter your task.
- To assign this task to someone:
- Type “@” or click the @ symbol in the comment field.
- Select a family group or begin typing the name/username of someone you’ve invited to your tree.
- Select the person/family group from the list that appears.
- Check the box to assign the task to the person mentioned.
- To assign this task to someone:
- Click Comment or Assign.
From the app
- Open a tree.
- In the top-right corner, tap the comment icon.
- In the comment field, enter your task.
- To assign this task to someone:
- Type “@” or tap the “@” in the comment field.
- Select a suggested username or begin typing the name/username of the person you want to assign.
- Use the toggle switch to assign the task.
- To assign this task to someone:
- Then tap the up arrow.
Marking tasks as complete
Tree owners, task creators, or the person assigned to a task can mark a task as complete. Others invited to the tree will be able to see the task but won't be able to mark it as complete.
From a browser
- Go to your tree.
- In the tree’s toolbar on the left, select More (three dots), then choose Activity.
- In the opened Activity panel, select Tasks.
- Find the finished task and click Mark complete.
The task will stay in the tree’s task list and show who completed it.
From the app
- Open a tree.
- In the top-right corner, tap the comment icon.
- Find the finished task and tap Mark done.
The task will stay in the tree’s task list and show who completed it.
Editing or deleting a task
From a browser
- Go to your tree.
- In the tree’s toolbar on the left, select More (three dots), then choose Activity.
- In the opened Activity panel, select Tasks.
- Next to the task you want to modify, click the three dots and choose Edit or Delete.
- Edit: Change your message, update the tagged person or uncheck the assignment box underneath it. When you're done, click Save or Assign.
- Delete: The task is deleted immediately. To restore it, click Undo.
From the app
- Open a tree.
- In the top-right corner, tap the comment icon.
- Next to the task you want to modify, click the three dots and choose Edit comment or Delete comment.
- Edit comment: Change your message, update the tagged person or toggle the “assign to” switch, underneath it. When you’re done, tap the up arrow to save.
- Delete comment: To confirm, tap Delete.
Task notifications
When you assign someone a task, we send them an Ancestry notification and an email to let them know. They'll only receive these notifications if their preferences and settings allow.
We’ll send you an Ancestry notification and email when:
- You’re assigned a task.
- Someone else finishes a task and marks it complete.
- You’re mentioned in a task or comment.
- Someone comments on or creates a task for your tree.
You can change your communication preferences at any time in your communication settings.
Changes
On the Ancestry website, you can view a list of recent changes to your tree and go directly to where they happened. Only the tree owner can see this list of changes.
- Go to your tree.
- In the tree’s toolbar on the left, select Activity.
- In the opened Activity panel, select Changes.
- Look through the list of changes to your tree. The most recent changes are shown automatically. You can scroll down to load earlier changes.
- To view a specific change in your tree, click on it.
- If multiple changes were made at once (like when accepting hints), click See connected changes and choose the change you want to see in your tree.
Viewers
On the website, with recent tree viewers turned on, you can see who’s viewed your tree(s) in the past 7 days and find others who might be researching the same people. Only the owner of a tree can see its viewers.
Tip: Send your recent tree viewers messages to make new connections, share stories, or help each other with your family trees!
- Go to your tree.
- In the tree’s toolbar on the left, select Activity.
- In the opened Activity panel, select Viewers.
- Look through the list of people who have viewed your tree in the last 7 days. If someone’s already invited to your tree, you’ll see their role listed below their name.
Viewers only appear if:- They chose to be seen in recent tree viewers
- They viewed your tree in the last 7 days
If you’ve turned off recent tree viewers, you’ll only see the number of unique people who’ve recently viewed your tree.
If your tree has no recent views, invite someone to look by clicking Invite and following the Sharing a Family Tree steps.
- (Optional) Send them a Message to find out what they can share about your family.
Not sure how to start the conversation? Try this:- Introduce yourself.
- Explain why you’re reaching out—they recently viewed your tree, and you might be researching the same people.
- Offer to help in their search, and ask if they can help with yours.
Turning recent tree viewers on or off
With recent tree viewers turned on, you can see who’s viewed your tree(s) in the past 7 days, and you’ll be listed as a viewer on any trees you view.
You can turn off recent tree viewers to avoid seeing or being named in another member's recent tree viewers. Turning off recent tree viewers hides the names of your tree’s viewers (by replacing the list with a counter displaying the number of people who’ve viewed your tree) and prevents you from appearing as a viewer on other trees. To turn recent tree viewers on or off:
- Go to Account settings.
- On the left, select Trees.
- Scroll down to the Recent viewers section and select Recent tree viewers.
- Choose whether or not to see who’s viewed your tree(s) and allow tree owners to know when you’ve viewed their tree.
- To turn on recent viewers: switch the toggle "on" to the blue position.
-
To turn off recent viewers: switch the toggle "off" to the gray position.
Note: Even when you turn off recent tree viewers, the viewers counter will still increase when someone views your tree or when you view another member’s tree.
- Click Save.
Frequently asked questions
How do I turn off email notifications?
You can change your communication preferences at any time in your communication settings.
Why don’t I see any recent tree viewers?
You won’t see anyone listed if:
- You aren’t the tree owner.
- You turned off recent tree viewers.
- Others haven’t viewed your tree in the last 7 days.
If you see a number in place of the names or usernames of the people who’ve recently viewed your tree, turn on recent tree viewers.
Will tree owners know how many times I’ve viewed their trees?
No, viewers only appear on the list once within 7 days.