Ancestry memberships purchased through the Ancestry app are purchased through the Apple App Store (if you have an iPhone) or Google Play (if you have an Android or Google phone), or from Amazon, if you downloaded the Amazon Appstore. When you buy a membership through the app, the membership must be cancelled by the company you bought it through.

If you purchased an Ancestry membership on a computer, click here for help.

 

Cancelling a membership

Uninstalling the Ancestry app will not cancel your membership. To cancel your Ancestry membership through Apple, Google, or Amazon, click on the company you bought the membership through and follow their instructions:

 

Refund policies

Refunds purchased through the Ancestry app are handled by the company you purchased the membership through. If you have an iPhone, this is Apple. If you have an Android or Google phone, this is likely Google Play. If you have a Kindle or use the Amazon Appstore, this is Amazon.

 

Upgrading or downgrading your Ancestry membership

Memberships purchased in the app (as well as memberships purchased on your computer) can be upgraded or downgraded in the Ancestry app. 

  1. Tap your profile icon in the top-left corner of your app
  2. Under Settings, select Account
  3. Under Membership, choose Manage 
    • If your membership was purchased on your computer, you will now be directed to your browser. From here, select the membership you want in the Modify membership section and click Modify membership. Review and submit your order (skip steps 4 and 5).
  4. Select Upgrade or Downgrade next to the membership you want
  5. Confirm your purchase in the app store

 

Troubleshooting

No cancellation link on your Account page: If your Account page on Ancestry doesn't have a cancellation link and you're being billed, you may have a second Ancestry account. Please contact us so we can help you find the other account and cancel your membership.

Being billed after cancelling: If you've been billed for a membership after cancelling your membership, you likely have a duplicate Ancestry account. Please contact us so we can find the other account for you.

Cancelling a Registered Guest membership: If your account says you're a registered guest, then you do not have a paid membership on that account. There is no need to cancel if you're a registered guest; you'll never be charged for a membership unless you purchase one. Just discontinue using Ancestry whenever you'd like.

 


Was this article helpful?