Linking and tagging people in media helps show who is in a photo or mentioned in a document, and where they appear.

  • Linking shows who the photo, document, audio, or story is about, and works with all types of media.
  • Tagging shows both who someone is and where they appear (like their face in a photo or their name in a document). It only works with photos and documents, not audio or stories.

What happens when you link or tag someone? 

  • Their name is added to the “Linked to” section
  • The media is placed in their gallery
  • A label with their name appears on the media in the spot you chose (tagging only)

Linking and unlinking media

Linking media to people

Linking adds the media to a person’s gallery and their name to the Linked to section. You can link as many people as needed.

In a browser

  1. Go to the media you want to link.
    For help, read Viewing Media in Your Tree.  
  2. In the Linked to section, click +Add person.
  3. Start typing the person’s name and select it from the list.
    If they’re in a different tree you own, choose that tree from the dropdown first.
  4. Repeat these steps to link additional people if needed.

In the app

  1. Go to the media you want to link.
    For help, read Viewing Media in Your Tree.
  2. At the bottom of your screen, tap Details.
  3. Tap Edit.
  4. In the Linked to section, tap +Add person.
  5. Start typing the person’s name or scroll to find it, then tap their name to link them.
    Repeat this step to link more people if needed.
  6. When you’re done, tap the X in the top-left corner to close the list.
  7. Tap Save.

Unlinking people from media

Unlinking removes the person’s name from the Linked to section and the media from their gallery. The media will stay in the tree’s gallery and the galleries of others who are still linked.

To remove the media from your tree entirely, follow the steps in Removing or Deleting Photos from Trees.

In a browser

  1. Go to the media you want to unlink.
    For help, read Viewing Media in Your Tree.
  2. In the Linked to section, click the name of the person you want to unlink.
  3. Click Unlink Person.
  4. Repeat these steps to unlink additional people if needed.


In the app

  1. Go to the media you want to unlink.
    For help, read Viewing Media in Your Tree.
  2. At the bottom of your screen, tap Details.
  3. Tap Edit.
  4. Tap the X next to the name of the person you want to unlink. 
    Repeat this step to unlink more people if needed.
  5. When finished, tap Save.

Tagging and untagging media

Tagging people in media

Tagging shows who someone is and where they appear by labeling things like faces in photos or names in documents. When you or someone else views the media later, those tags will show who’s who and where they are. This can be especially helpful for media like group or family photos.

Tagging also links the person to the media, so their name is added to the Linked to section and the media is placed in their gallery. 

Tagging is currently available for photos and documents, but not for audio or stories.

In a browser

  1. Go to the media you want to tag.
    For help, read Viewing Media in Your Tree.  
  2. In the media toolbar, click the tag icon or select Tags.
  3. Select the part of the media you want to tag, then click Search your tree.
  4. In the Find a person field, start typing a name and click on it when it appears. 
    Repeat steps 2-4 to tag more people if needed.
  5. When finished, click Done tagging.

In the app 

  1. Go to the media you want to tag.
    For help, read Viewing Media in Your Tree.
  2. In the bottom menu, tap Tag.
  3. Tap the part of the media you want to tag, then tap Search tree.
  4. Start typing the person’s name or scroll to find it, then tap their name to tag them.
    Repeat this step to tag more people if needed.
  5. When finished, tap Done.

Untagging people from media

Untagging removes the label from the media, removes their name from the Linked to section, and takes the media out of their gallery. The media will stay in the tree’s gallery and the galleries of others who are still linked and tagged. To remove the media from your tree entirely, follow the steps in Removing or Deleting Photos from Trees.

In a browser

  1. Go to the media you want to untag.
    For help, read Viewing Media in Your Tree.
  2. In the media toolbar, click the tag icon or select Tags.
  3. Click on the X next to the name you want to remove. 
    Repeat this step to untag more people if needed.
  4. When finished, click Done tagging.


In the app

  1. Go to the media you want to untag.
    For help, read Viewing Media in Your Tree.
  2. In the bottom menu, tap Tag.
  3. Tap the X next to the name of the person you want to untag.
  4. When finished, tap Done.

Was this article helpful?