This article is for help with the Ancestry app on mobile devices. If you use a computer or browser (like Safari or Chrome), see Changing the Name of a Tree, Family Tree Privacy, Assigning Who You Are in Your Ancestry Tree, or Deleting a Family Tree.
From the Tree Settings page, you can change a tree’s name, description, or privacy settings (public or private), set who “you” are in the tree, select a home person, share your tree, and delete your tree. For more app help with your tree, see Fixing Tree Relationships in the Ancestry App, Attaching Hints in the Ancestry App, Creating Trees in the Ancestry App, or Finding People in Your Tree in the Ancestry App.
- In the Ancestry app, tap your profile icon (photo or letters) in the top-left corner of your screen.
- Under Manage tree, tap on the name of your tree.
- Change your tree:
- To change the name of your tree, tap the Title field.
- To add or change your tree description, tap the Description field.
- To make your tree public or private, tap Public or Private (iOS) or Tree set to public or Tree set to private (Android) in the Privacy section.
- To set yourself as who you are in the tree, tap Select Yourself under Who are you? (iOS)/Who you are in the tree (Android). Begin typing your name and tap it when it appears.
- To make yourself the home person, tap the Use as Home Person slider so that it turns green.
- To share a tree, tap Invite > swipe left and right to view and select one of three roles for the invited person: Guest, Contributor, or Editor > Tap Create link.
- To delete the tree, tap Delete Tree, then tap Yes in the menu asking you to confirm the deletion. Deleting your tree is permanent and can’t be undone.