This article is to help you manage sources in networks. For help with something else, select what you want to do:

 

Adding sources

Sources must be linked to a person in your tree, and that person must be added to the network before they can be added.

  1. Go to the network and select the Sources tab.
  2. Click Add from saved sources.
  3. Select a person and click Next
    Only people in the network with saved sources will show up. If you don’t see someone, they’re either not in the network yet or don’t have sources attached to them. For help, choose one of the following:
  4. Check the Select all box or the box next to each source you want to add, then click Add selected sources.

Searching network sources

The networks’ source search tool can help you find specific sources saved within the network.

  1. Go to the network and select the Sources tab.
  2. Under Sources and Records, enter search criteria and click Search.
  3. If no results are found, edit your search, or click Reset and try again.
     

Viewing network sources

  1. Go to the network and select the Sources tab.
  2. Find the source you want to see and click View source.

Editing network sources

Network sources come from the sources saved to people in your tree. To edit a source in your network, you’ll follow the same steps as editing sources in your tree

  1. Go to the network and select the Sources tab.
  2. Find the source you want to edit and click View source.
  3. Above the Detail tab, click the person’s name.
  4. On the Facts tab of their profile page, in the Sources column, hover over the source you want to change and click View.
  5. Make changes and click Save.

Removing network sources

Removing a source from the network keeps it in your tree but removes it from the network. Removing a source from your tree removes it from both the tree and network, along with any other networks linked to that tree.

  1. Go to the network and select the Sources tab.
  2. Find the source you want to remove and click Remove from network.
  3. (Optional) Remove the source from your tree. Removing a source from your tree removes it from both the tree and network, along with any other networks linked to that tree.

Frequently asked questions

Select a question below to view the answer. Select the question again to hide it.

Which tree’s sources can I add to my network?


Sources can only be added from the tree linked to the network. However, you can copy sources from one tree to another—allowing them to be added to the network. 

Who can see my networks and their sources?


Only you can see and edit your networks. However, a network's sources come from its linked family tree and follow the tree’s privacy settings.

  • If your tree is public, information, media, and sources about deceased people are visible to others.
  • If your tree is private, only invited people can see information, media, and sources about deceased people.

Details about living people are kept private. Only those you invite as an editor or grant access to can view them and their sources.

How can I keep information in my networks private?


Only you can see and edit your networks. But, a network's sources come from its linked family tree and follow the tree’s privacy settings.

To keep everything private:

  1. Create a new family tree.
  2. Set it to private.
  3. Create a new network and connect it to that private tree.
  4. Don’t share or invite anyone to that network’s connected tree.

If needed, you can copy people and sources from another tree to your new private tree.  They’ll be copied but not linked since linking people and sources between trees isn’t currently possible. Any future changes made to them in one tree must also be made in the other for the updates to appear in both trees.

How many sources can I add to a network?


There’s no limit. You can add as many sources as you want to each network. 

How many networks can sources in my tree be added to? 


Sources in your tree can be added to as many networks as you’d like. There is no limit. 

What happens to the sources in my network if I delete the linked tree?


If you delete a network’s linked tree, the tree and everything in it—people, media, and sources—will be permanently deleted, along with any connected networks.

What happens to network sources if I delete the network?


Network sources come from the sources saved to people in your tree. When a network is deleted, you can still access the sources in the tree.

Are networks and their sources available in the Ancestry App?


No. Networks and some of the other Pro Tools features aren’t currently available in the Ancestry app. However, since network sources come from sources saved to people in the linked tree, you can still view those sources from your tree in the app. 

Can I put links to sources in my stickies?


Yes, when you make or edit a stickie, you can add links to other pages, media, sources, and websites using the stickie’s rich text editor. For help, read Using Rich Text Editors on Ancestry

 


Was this article helpful?