When you invite someone to view your tree, you decide whether or not to give them editorial rights. You can check the level of access you’ve provided from the Tree Settings page.
Checking the access you’ve provided
- Go to a family tree you've shared.
- In the toolbar on the left, click More (three dots) and select Tree settings.
- On the Tree settings page, click the Invitations tab.
- Review and update invitees' Role(s) if necessary.
- Guests can view and add comments. They cannot automatically view living people.
- Contributors can view and add comments, photos, and stories. They cannot edit or remove existing tree content or automatically view living people.
- Editors can automatically view living people, remove and edit existing content, and add people, records, comments, photos, and stories.
- If you made any changes, click Save https://internalancestrysupport.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/53933347826067-Changes-Tree-Activity-Menu.
Shared computers
If you sign into your Ancestry account on a public or shared device, remember to sign out when you're done to prevent others from accessing your tree(s) and account. This is especially important when accessing Ancestry from a public computer, like those at a library or family history center. If you leave yourself signed in after using Ancestry, people who use the same computer after you do may be able to access your account.
Tracking your work
Sometimes changes people make to their own trees cause concern the next time their tree is accessed. It can be useful to keep a log of changes you make to your family tree and meticulously track your work so you know where you left off and why you made certain changes. If you can’t find a family tree you’ve created, see our article about missing family trees.
Fixing mistakes
For help fixing mistakes in your tree, see Fixing Relationships in Trees.